Green Ribbon Schools Honorees Announced

WASHINGTON — The White House Council on Environmental Quality and Department of Education recently recognized schools and school districts throughout the nation for their commitment to sustainability. The 2014 U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools award honorees included 48 schools across the nation who were honored for their exemplary efforts to reduce environmental impact and utility costs, promote better health and ensure effective environmental education, including civics and green career pathways, according to the Department of Education.

“Today’s honorees are modeling a comprehensive approach to being green by encompassing facility, wellness and learning into their daily operations," said Secretary of Education Arne Duncan in a statement. "They are demonstrating ways schools can simultaneously cut costs, improve health and engage students with hands-on learning that prepares them with the thinking skills necessary to be successful in college and careers.”

Additionally, nine school districts were recognized with the District Sustainability Award. Schools were nominated by 30 state education agencies and span 27 states. Next year, the green school awards will recognize a post-secondary category. State education agencies are encouraged to indicate intent to nominate schools in 2015 by Aug. 1, 2014.

“Schools all over the country can look to today’s honorees as models for creating a healthier learning environment while lowering energy bills and preparing students for success in the 21st century economy,” said Mike Boots, Acting Chair of the White House Council on Environmental Quality, in a statement. “The schools and districts being honored today are taking smart, innovative steps to reduce environmental impacts and teach students the kinds of sustainable practices that they can carry with them into their homes and future careers.”

The list of 2014 awardees follows:

F. E. Burleson Elementary School, Hartselle
Brock’s Gap Intermediate School, Hoover
Homewood Middle School, Homewood


Lowell Elementary School, Long Beach
Mark Twain Elementary School, Long Beach
San Domenico School, San Anselmo
Encinitas Union School District

Larkspur Elementary School, Larkspur
Mesa Elementary School, Cortez
Lesher Middle School, Ft. Collins
Boulder Valley School District

Interdistrict Discovery Magnet School, Bridgeport
Greenwich Academy, Greenwich

Red Clay Consolidated School District

Broward County Public Schools

Arcado Elementary School, Lilburn
High Meadows School, Roswell

Woodland Primary School, Gages Lake

St. Thomas Aquinas School, Indianapolis
Carmel High School, Carmel

Wellington Elementary, Lexington

Travilah Elementary School, North Potomac
North Carroll High School, Hampstead

Boston Latin School, Boston

Renaissance High School, Clarkston
LISD TECH Center, Adrian

Five Hawks Elementary School, Prior Lake
Chisago Lakes Middle School, Lindstrom
Waconia Independent School District 110

Fontenelle Elementary, Omaha
Omaha Public School District

New Jersey
Three Bridges School, Three Bridges
Kellman Brown Academy, Voorhees

New Mexico
Amy Biehl Community School, Sante Fe

New York
Anne Hutchinson Elementary School, Eastchester

North Carolina
Exploris Middle School, Raleigh

Metro Catholic School, Cleveland
Milton-Union Exempt Village School, West Milton
West Geauga High School, Chesterland

Jesuit High School, Portland
Willamette High School, Eugene

Council Rock School District, Newtown

Rhode Island
Claiborne Pell Elementary School, Newport
The Greene School, Greenwich

Camels Hump Middle School, Richmond
Champlain Valley Union High School, Hinesburg
Lake Region Union High School, Orleans

Shadow Lake Elementary School, Maple Valley
Bertschi School, Seattle
Vancouver School District

West Virginia
Eastwood Elementary School, Morgantown
Cameron Middle-High School, Cameron

Park Elementary, Cross Plains
Tomorrow River Community Charter School, Amherst Junction
Hurley K-12 School, Hurley
Conserve School, Land O Lakes
Greendale School District